Chicago, IL – Local Elks Lodges throughout the United States, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the
Panama Canal will celebrate Flag Day on June 14, 2022. The Benevolent and Protective Order
of Elks is the only fraternal organization to require a formal observance of Flag Day.
In July of 1908, the Elks’ Grand Lodge provided for the annual nationwide observance of Flag
Day on the 14th of June each year, making it mandatory for each subordinate Lodge in the Order.
June 14 was officially established as Flag Day by a proclamation by President Woodrow Wilson
in 1916. Flag Day was not a national observance until 1949—President Harry Truman, himself
an Elks member, was inspired through his Lodge in Independence Missouri, to sign an act of
Congress that dedicated June 14 to the symbol of our country.
The Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks has made more than 12 Billion in donations since
we first started 154 years ago. Last year alone, the Elks donated approximately $400 million in
cash, gifts and time to make our communities better places to live. The Elks are one of the
premier patriotic and charitable organizations in the United States of America.
Annually, the Elks award college scholarships across the nation totaling $4.7 million dollars.
The Elks Community Investment Program will award $15.7 million dollars towards enriching
our communities. The Elks National Foundation also granted $10.4 million dollars to the state
Elks associations through State Charities Grants, Special Project Grants and Bonus Grants,
which help fund each state’s charitable activities.
There are 1,876 Elks Lodges across the country with a total membership nearing 760,000. Elks’
members must be American citizens who are at least 21 years of age and must believe in God.
To learn more visit www.elks.org
For membership information visit Join.Elks.Org

Related Posts

2022-2023 Grand Lodge
Billing System Enrollment Webinar

Monday, November 21st 6:00pm CST

Committee Chair Report Submission Form

Please fill out the report below for your committee.
A copy will be sent to the State Secretary and to yourself.

Committee Name